About GHIRP

We are a group of dedicated lawyers and legal professionals committed to providing high-quality legal services to low-income immigrants in the Galveston-Houston area.

GHIRP Icon
Download 2023 Annual Report
Zealous Advocacy At Every Level

Our vision

Through zealous representation, GHIRP ensures that immigrants in the community have equal access to due process in our complex immigration system. Access to counsel is a critical component to due process for immigrants seeking family unity, protection from deportation, and freedom from abuse and persecution. GHIRP’s model of combining education with legal representation empowers immigrants in our community to reach their greatest potential by first achieving safety, stability, and independence.

Contact Us
Galveston-Houston Immigrant Representation Project (GHIRP) Staff and Team Photo

Our values

  • We believe that:
  • Each and every immigrant should have a voice in their legal process.
  • Safety and autonomy are fundamental to achieving one’s potential.
  • Diverse and inclusive communities make us stronger.

Our team

Who we are

We are a group of dedicated lawyers and legal professionals committed to providing high-quality legal services to low-income immigrants in the Galveston-Houston area. GHIRP provides zealous advocacy at every level, from Know Your Rights presentations to federal litigation without restrictions. As a local organization, we focus on local issues that immigrants are facing, using education, representation and outreach, to serve and advocate for immigrants to build a more resilient, diverse community. This same spirit drives the GHIRP mission, which seeks to ensure that all individuals within our borders have the equal access to our justice system and the protections it offers.

GHIRP eliminates barriers immigrants face in obtaining legal counsel and expanding direct representation in the Galveston-Houston area. Legal advocates are critical now, more than ever, in assisting immigrants navigate the complex immigration system. ICE apprehension and detention authority is exponentially more expansive than in the past, yet the resources dedicated to preserving immigrant rights remain stagnant. Recent changes to immigration policies and laws have eroded due process protections for immigrants, which has broadly eliminated access to safety and stability in the United States for many vulnerable immigrants.

Team members

Chiqui Sanchez Kennedy

Executive Director, Co-founder
Chiqui@ghirp.org

Chiqui Sanchez Kennedy

Liz Hoefer

Managing Attorney, Co-founder
Detained Adult Program
LizH@ghirp.org

Liz Hoefer

Vanessa Perez

Managing Attorney, Co-founder
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking & Community Immigration Program
VanessaP@ghirp.org

Vanessa Perez

Alexa Sendukas

Managing Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AlexaS@ghirp.org

Alexa Sendukas

Sara Aguila

Paralegal
Detained Adult Program
SaraA@ghirp.org

Sara Aguila

Rebecca Chavez

Senior Staff Attorney
Federal Litigation Program
RebeccaC@ghirp.org

Rebecca Chavez

Samantha Davis

Immigrant Justice Corps Fellow
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
samanthad@ghirp.org

Samantha Davis

Myah Fuqua

Staff Attorney
Detained Adult Program
MyahF@ghrip.org

Myah Fuqua

Abigail Gonsoulin

Law Clerk
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AbigailG@ghirp.org

Abigail Gonsoulin

Andréia Hart

Staff Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AndreiaH@ghirp.org

Andréia Hart

Gabriela Hernandez

Senior Staff Attorney
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking Program
GabrielaH@ghirp.org

Gabriela Hernandez

Sharonda Johnson

Executive Administrative Assistant
Galveston-Houston Immigrant Representation Project
SharondaJ@ghrip.org

Sharonda Johnson

Holly Kuchera

Senior Staff Attorney
HollyK@ghirp.org

Holly Kuchera

Dante Lendechy-Cornejo

Law Clerk
Community Immigration Program
DanteL@ghirp.org

Dante Lendechy-Cornejo

Raquel Mora-Ojeda

Legal Assistant
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
RaquelM@ghirp.org

Raquel Mora-Ojeda

Guadalupe (Lupe) Navarrete

Legal Assistant
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
GuadalupeN@ghirp.org

Guadalupe (Lupe) Navarrete

Alejandra Paramo

Immigrant Justice Corps Fellow
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AlejandraP@ghirp.org

Alejandra Paramo

Sylvia Ramirez

Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
Galveston-Houston Immigrant Representation Project
SylviaR@ghirp.org

Sylvia Ramirez

Anapaula Rincon-Echeto

DOJ Accredited Representative
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking Program
AnapaulaR@ghirp.org

Anapaula Rincon-Echeto

Elizabeth (Lizzie) Riordan

Legal Assistant
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) program
ElizabethR@ghirp.org

Elizabeth (Lizzie) Riordan

Enzo Rivas

Legal Assistant
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
EnzoR@ghirp.org

Enzo Rivas

Diana Wakasugi-Arriola

Staff Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
DianaW@ghirp.org

Diana Wakasugi-Arriola

Ashley Winford

Equal Justice Works Fellow
Detained Adult Program
AshleyW@ghrip.org

Ashley Winford

Board Members

Dalia Castillo-Granados

Board Member

Dalia Castillo-Granados

Alfredo R. Gutierrez

Board Member

Alfredo R. Gutierrez

Billy Roberts

Board Member

Billy Roberts