About GHIRP

We are a group of dedicated lawyers and legal professionals committed to providing high-quality legal services to low-income immigrants in the Galveston-Houston area.

GHIRP Icon
Zealous Advocacy At Every Level

Our vision

Through zealous representation, GHIRP ensures that immigrants in the community have equal access to due process in our complex immigration system. Access to counsel is a critical component to due process for immigrants seeking family unity, protection from deportation, and freedom from abuse and persecution. GHIRP’s model of combining education with legal representation empowers immigrants in our community to reach their greatest potential by first achieving safety, stability, and independence.

Contact Us
Galveston-Houston Immigrant Representation Project (GHIRP) Staff and Team Photo

Our values

  • We believe that:
  • Each and every immigrant should have a voice in their legal process.
  • Safety and autonomy are fundamental to achieving one’s potential.
  • Diverse and Inclusive communities make us stronger.

Our team

Who we are

We are a group of dedicated lawyers and legal professionals committed to providing high-quality legal services to low-income immigrants in the Galveston-Houston area. GHIRP provides zealous advocacy at every level, from Know Your Rights presentations to federal litigation without restrictions. As a local organization, we focus on local issues that immigrants are facing, using education, representation and outreach, to serve and advocate for immigrants to build a more resilient, diverse community. This same spirit drives the GHIRP mission, which seeks to ensure that all individuals within our borders have the equal access to our justice system and the protections it offers.

GHIRP eliminates barriers immigrants face in obtaining legal counsel and expanding direct representation in the Galveston-Houston area. Legal advocates are critical now, more than ever, in assisting immigrants navigate the complex immigration system. ICE apprehension and detention authority is exponentially more expansive than in the past, yet the resources dedicated to preserving immigrant rights remain stagnant. Recent changes to immigration policies and laws have eroded due process protections for immigrants, which has broadly eliminated access to safety and stability in the United States for many vulnerable immigrants.

Team members

Chiqui Sanchez Kennedy

Executive Director
Chiqui@ghirp.org

Chiqui Sanchez Kennedy

Liz Hoefer

Managing Attorney, Co-founder
Detained Adult Program
LizH@ghirp.org

Liz Hoefer

Vanessa Perez

Managing Attorney, Co-founder
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking & Community Immigration Program
VanessaP@ghirp.org

Vanessa Perez

Alexa Sendukas

Managing Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AlexaS@ghirp.org

Alexa Sendukas

Rebecca Chavez

Staff Attorney
Detained Adult Program
RebeccaC@ghirp.org

Rebecca Chavez

Caroline Cordero

Social Services Coordinator
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
CarolineC@ghirp.org

Caroline Cordero

Abigail Gonsoulin

Paralegal
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
AbigailG@ghirp.org

Abigail Gonsoulin

Lisa M. McIntyre

Staff Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
LisaM@ghirp.org

Lisa M. McIntyre

Stephanie Sanchez

Paralegal
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
StephanieS@ghirp.org

Stephanie Sanchez

Keren Valenzuela Bermudez

Paralegal
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
KerenV@ghirp.org

Keren Valenzuela Bermudez

Diana Wakasugi-Arriola

Staff Attorney
Immigrant Children & Youth (ICY) Program
DianaW@ghirp.org

Diana Wakasugi-Arriola

Gabriela Hernandez

Staff Attorney
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking Program
GabrielaH@ghirp.org

Gabriela Hernandez

Anapaula Rincon-Echeto

Paralegal
Survivors of Crime and Human Trafficking Program
AnapaulaR@ghirp.org

Anapaula Rincon-Echeto

Christina Treviño

Administrative Assistant
ChristinaT@ghirp.org

Christina Treviño

Board Members

Dalia Castillo-Granados

Board Member

Dalia Castillo-Granados

Billy Roberts

Board Member

Billy Roberts